To honor a nutritionist for outstanding professional contributions and service in public health.
Guidelines: The nomination must reflect cooperation with other agencies and groups; public health advocacy; and all other activities that demonstrate support for public health through effective organizational skills.

2020 Recipient: Robin Gillespie, MS, RD, LD, CLS
WIC Breastfeeding Promotion
Supervisor/Regional Breastfeeding Coordinator
Louisville Metro Department of Public Health & Wellness

Robin Gillespie has been with LMPHW WIC program for 19 years. She is said to be a dynamic and effective leader and integral to forging productive relationships in the breastfeeding advocacy community. Robin was recently voted President of Louisville's breastfeeding coalition, Kentuckiana Lactation Improvement Coalition (KLIC), which provides professional education, networking, communication, and mutual support among Lactation Consultants and other health professionals concerned with breastfeeding in Kentucky and Southeast Indiana.

For the past 1.5 years, Robin has been Acting WIC manager, in addition to her duties as our Lactation Supervisor. Her exceptional organizational skills and leadership have enabled her to be effective in both roles and even take on new projects. Recently she worked to reopen our WIC site in the South Jefferson Neighborhood Place to increase participation in that area. We anticipate that we will see an increase of 400 participants at the new site. She truly goes above and beyond to provide excellent quality services to participants in her program.

Over the past year, Robin has been able to build a collaborative environment for her team by incorporating all WIC staff into strategic planning and goal development. She has worked with each member of her team to develop individual goals and has set an example for staff by setting ambitious goals for herself, such as obtaining her International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) Certification. She is an excellent supervisor. For all these reasons, she is most deserving of this award.

It is with great pleasure that we present the 2020 Peggy S. Kidd Nutrition award to Robin Gillespie, WIC Breastfeeding Promotion Supervisor & Regional Breastfeeding Coordinator at Louisville Metro Public Health & Wellness.

Past Winners

2019: Not Awarded
2018: Nancy Merk, MS, RD, LD, IBCLC
2017: Karen Fallon
2016: Carolyn McGinn
2015: Cara O’Neill
2014: Brandi Gilley
2013: Connie Howell
2012: Debbie Lentz
2011: Paul Rudd
2010: Diane Sprowl
2009: Debbie Bell
2008: Paula H. White
2007: LaBerta White
2005: Dianna Colson
2004: Fran Hawkins
2003: Cynthia Sullivan
2002: Karen Riffe
2001: Carol A. Bryant
2000: Dr. Effie Creamer
1999: Emma S. Walters
1998: Sue Ann Wulf
1997: Oreida Whitaker
1996: Patricia M. Foxworthy
1994: Peggy Kidd Staley